Crisis of Faith

So I have not been on my blog for a while, and for that I am sorry.  I am unsure if I want to commit to a blog. The problem with blogging is, it takes a very large commitment and I am not sure I have that.  My biggest failing is that I start these things and never finish them, truly two weeks is usually my limit. It doesn’t matter if it is a diet a study course or an exercise plan, the problem is I get bored. Truly I am surprised I managed to finish my degree ha-ha. I am unsure if I even want to give that much time and effort to it, when all I want to do is travel “NOT BLOG”. But it is a way to stay in touch and possibly in the future develop an income, albeit small. One of the problems with committing to it now is I am not travelling, I am at home doing very little trying to save money (boring). So therefore have very little to write about on my blog. It’s a bit of a conundrum.

I am going through a “Crisis of Faith” in my ability to achieve my goals within the timeframe I have set. I am unsure if I will save enough money, as I have a set amount in mind albeit a huge amount.

I am also unsure if I am actually capable of solo travel. When looking at destinations and how to get there and get around once there, I often find the internet just a confusing waste of time. Simple things like booking flights makes me nervous, as I have done very little of that before always relying on my travel agent to do it. I have never applied for a visa myself, so that is extremely scary and I have no idea where to start. I sometimes find myself absolutely terrified at the whole idea of doing this. However I have recently found a Facebook page that have pointed me in the right direction, and a couple of interesting blogs that are very helpful. It gives great advice on many travel topics, from visas, websites, flights to jobs overseas.

I am also going to enrol in a TESOL course in the next couple of months. This will allow me to work teaching English and the fact that I have a degree is a bonus in the employment stakes. I am not even sure if I want to teach while overseas. Won’t I just end up working in another country and not seeing the sights, it’s just like being at home really? I will do it though as a backup for while I am away.

Saving money has come to a standstill in the last few months due to a change in circumstances, it will I hope begin to improve again soon. My original plan was to rent out the two spare rooms in my home.

I have two rooms spare in my home that are just begging for someone to rent them but for some reason I cannot find anyone to move in. This is frustrating me as it is a wonderful source of income just begging to happen. I have put them up on a couple of websites, however not luck. I am considering not renting them out at all as I am not really wanting to share the last year with anyone other than my daughter.

I am going to New Zealand in October 2016 with a friend for two weeks we will be hiring a camper van and just driving. We have no real plan but a few ideas of things we want to see.  Then in March 2017 I am possibly going to backpack around Turkey and Greece as a test run with my girlfriend for 4-5 weeks. I think this may financially delay my original plan which was to leave in Nov 2016 but only until February 2017. I am aiming for “Carnival” in Rio in 2017 so that date is set in stone at least. 

A friend of a friend is coming back from backpacking around South America soon and I am going to catch up with them and hopefully find out as much as I can. 

I guess the problem is I have taken too long to arrive at my departure date and I have gotten scared and disheartened. I am now just unsure if I am capable or if I will have enough money. 

It has taken me a few weeks to write this and in that time I have had issues in my life that has just reinforced my determination to live my life free. I AM GOING TO TRAVEL THE WORLD. It will happen next year and nothing in this world will stop me. Wish me luck and look out for my website as it changes and evolves. I don’t know what the future will bring but I know I am going to give it a go.

 

Leave a comment